Posted by: mcconkem | January 11, 2015

To Continue

Wow, another post! Doing all right so far…look for more because things are happening!

Living in the movies, having experiences in books, falling in love with TV characters….hasn’t this occurred for most people? Especially now! I myself fall victim of this and often imagine what would happen to the characters after the movie/show/book ended.

Maybe this is just more proof that I need to get to writing because my imagination runs on over drive whenever I encounter a story that has potential. Or maybe it is just because of all the hype of what happens after happily ever after?

I may not be the best at this but a few occasions come to mind:

– I was on a Jane Austen kick (once watched the 2005 version of Pride and Prejudice for 8 or so hours, on repeat, just couldn’t stop) and watched the movie Austenland. Now it was really fun and the stories of the main characters really hooked me for some reason. I could feel something in them and started to imagine the story continuing on. I became them and told the story or how she became pregnant and moved to London, abandoning her home for him and how she was devastated. I actually cried because I could feel her pain, the pain that I had imagined for her. They eventually ended up on neutral ground, Canada, and the story continued on. They were different but I knew that the love they had would endure…accents and all.

– I watched a show called H2O: Just add water when I was younger so imagine my surprise when I found all episodes on Netflix! Another binge watching (starting to realize that I need to stop binge-watching things) session and I was speaking in an Australian accent. This one was harder than the usual British one I can don, but again, I could hear the characters and two particularly stuck. They were separated in the show but I knew they would end up together before finishing the last season, and what do you know, they did! Another story of their life occurred, this time she left him after giving birth to their daughter, Sarah (don’t know why that was the name, but it seemed to be the only name for the girl). It was wonderful but sad again.

The plot thickens….as a writer, I know that problems occur and it is the protagonist’s job to solve those problems. I just need to find the right solution to write my own story and maybe one day someone will read it and continue on where I left off.


Leave a comment

Categories